Imo Assembly removes Deputy Speaker, Amara Iwuanyanwu

The lawmakers are, Anyadike Nwosu( Ezinihitte Mbaise), Philip Ejiogu, ( Owerri North), and Dominic Ezerioha( Oru West Kennedy Ibe( Obowo), Onyemaechi Njoku( Ihitte Uboma), Uche Ogbuagu( Ikeduru),

This came four months after the speaker, Paul Emezim, had controversially suspended the lawmakers over what he tagged ” unparliamentary conduct”.
Also, six members of the Assembly who were suspended few months ago have been recalled.

Iwuanyanwu was removed at the plenary on Tuesday under tight security by 18 out of the the 27 members of the house.
Lawmaker representing Orlu state constituency, Ekene Nnodim submitted a resolution signed by the 18 lawmakers.

The speaker, Paul Emezim, who presided over the plenary okayed the removal of Iwuanyanwu.
The recalled lawmakers were suspended on July 8.
However on October 6, a suit challenging the suspension of the six lawmakers was struck out by a court in Owerri.
Counsel to the embattled lawmakers, Kingdom Okere, told our correspondent that the suit was struck out after his clients and the Assembly leadership reached a consensus.On Tuesday, the speaker announced that the suspended lawmakers had repented hence the lifting of the four months old suspension

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s